

# **Fur Institute of Canada Awards**

- 1. To be eligible for a FIC Award the following information MUST be supplied to the FIC Awards Committee:
- Name, signature and complete address/contact information of person being nominated.
- Names, complete address/contact information and signatures of at least two nominators the nominee may not serve as a nominator.
- Nominators and seconders may only support one nomination for each award.
- A brief citation stating the accomplishments that make the nominee deserving of the particular award.
- A brief narrative description/biography of the nominee's background (career, positions held, publications, awards, honors and activities).
- 2. Award recipients are not required to be FIC members. However, in all cases, at least one nominator must be a FIC member.
- 3. An individual may not receive nor be nominated in more than one FIC award category in any one year.
- 4. Only complete nominations packages will be considered by the Committee.

2025 North American Furbearer Conservation Award	2
2025 Jim Bourque Memorial Award	
2025 Lloyd Cook Award	
2025 Neal Jotham Award	

### 2025 North American Furbearer Conservation Award

Members of the Fur Institute of Canada are invited to nominate a deserving individual to receive the NORTH AMERICAN FURBEARER CONSERVATION AWARD, on June 13, 2025.

The purpose of the North American Furbearer Conservation Award is to promote awareness and recognition of individuals and organizations that have made significant efforts for sustainable furbearer management.

The objectives of this award are:

- To encourage innovation and excellence in furbearer management by the recognition of outstanding achievements of individuals and organizations;
- · To build public awareness for hundreds of years of successful furbearer management; and,
- To instill a greater pride and sense of accomplishment within the fur community.

- HOWARD NOSEWORTHY (2024)
- MICHAEL S. O'BRIEN (2023)
- CHARLES NEVEU (2019)
- BRYANT WHITE (2018)
- FÉDÉRATION DES TRAPPEURS GESTIONNAIRES DU QUÉBEC (2017)
- BOB MCLEOD (2016)
- MILTON FREEMAN (2015)
- NEIL VAN NOSTRAND (2014)
- DON MACLAUCHLAN (2013)
- SERGE LARIVIÈRE (2012)
- GREG LINSCOMBE (2011)
- ERIC LOFROTH (2010)
- DAVID NEAVE / MILAN NOVAK (2009)
- PIERRE CANAC-MARQUIS (2008)
- J. MICHAEL WALDRAM (2007)

## 2025 Jim Bourque Memorial Award

Members of the Fur Institute of Canada are invited to nominate a deserving individual to receive the JIM BOURQUE AWARD, on June 13, 2025.

In 1997, the Fur Institute of Canada's Aboriginal Communications Committee instituted the JIM BOURQUE AWARD, in recognition of Mr. Bourque's commitment to the sustainable use of wildlife resources, improved animal welfare, the development of Canada's modern fur trade, the recognition of Indigenous People's cultures and the stewardship role that trappers play in the conservation and management of Canada's wildlife.

- RON LANCOUR (2018)
- SERGE LARIVIÈRE (2017)
- FRANCOIS ROUSSOUW (2016)
- GARRY BREITKREUZ, (2015)
- PIERRE CANAC-MARQUIS, Faune et Parcs Québec (2014)
- KEITH HICKLING, Government of the Northwest Territories (2013)
- ROBERT(SHOLTO) DOUGLAS, Government of the Northwest Territories (2012)
- SIMON AWA, Government of Nunavut (2011)
- ROBERT (GUY) ERASMUS, Government of the Northwest Territories (2010)
- ROBERT ALEXIE, SR., Government of the Northwest Territories (2009)
- BRIAN ROBERTS, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (2008)
- RICHARD ANTHONY POPKO, Government of the Northwest Territories (2007)
- NEAL JOTHAM, NRJ Technical Services for Trade & Animal Welfare (2006)
- ALAN HERSCOVICI, Fur Council of Canada (2005)
- HARVEY JESSUP, Yukon Environment (2004)
- WILFRED JACKSON, Trapper Instructor, Sahtu Conservation Education Program, Northwest Territories (2003)
- ETHEL MCLEOD (posthumous), Trapper, Northern Manitoba (2002)
- ANDREW KIRKNESS, Indian Council of First Nations of Manitoba, Inc. (2001)
- SMOKEY BRUYERE, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (2000)
- ROBERT MCLEOD, Government of the NWT (1999)
- THOMAS COON, Cree Trappers Association, and ALEX VAN BIBBER, Council of Yukon First Nations (1998)

## 2025 Lloyd Cook Award

Members of the Fur Institute of Canada are invited to nominate a deserving individual to receive the LLOYD COOK AWARD, on June 13, 2025.

The LLOYD COOK AWARD was created by the Fur Institute of Canada in 1991, in memory of Mr. Cook's commitment to excellence in trapping, trapper education and public understanding of wildlife management.

- FRANK PHILIPS (2024)
- ROBERT STITT (2023)
- KEVIN WHITE (2019)
- RYAN SEALY (2018)
- PAUL BLACKWELL (2017)
- DANNY C. BEAULIEU (2016)
- WAYNE SHARPE (2015)
- BERNARD DUBÉ, Fédération des Trappeurs Gestionnaires du Québec (2014)
- DAVE HAMILTON, Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies (2013)
- DONALD CURRIE, Government of Alberta (2012)
- BOB CARMICHAEL (2011)
- IVAN PITCHER, Retired from Newfoundland Labrador's Wildlife Division (2010)
- GLEN GUTHRIE, Sahtu Renewable Resources Board (2009)
- ROGER TOEWS, Manitoba Agent, Fur Harvesters Auction (2008)
- BOB MCQUAY, North American Fur Auctions (2007)
- JIM GIBB, Fur Harvesters Auction (2006)
- ALISON BEAL, Wildlife Research and Consulting (2005)
- JIM LUTHI, Saskatchewan Trappers Association (2004)
- PIERRE CANAC-MARQUIS, Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec 2003)
- DOUGLAS K. POLLOCK, Fur Institute of Canada (2002)
- ALCIDE GIROUX, Al's Live Bait & Furs (2001)
- LARRY ROY, Alberta Research Council (2000)
- GERRY WILDE (posthumous), Alberta Trappers Association (1999)
- BRUCE WILLIAMS, Canada Fox Breeders Association (1998)
- BILL RUSSELL, Timmins Fur Council (1997)
- FRED NEUMANN, Alberta Department of Environmental Protection, and HOWARD NOSEWORTHY, Newfoundland and Labrador Trappers Association (1996)
- CORKY PETERSON, Manitoba Trappers Association (1994)
- ALEX VAN BIBBER, Council of Yukon First Nations (1993)

### 2025 Neal Jotham Award

Members of the Fur Institute of Canada are invited to nominate a deserving individual to receive the NEAL JOTHAM AWARD, on June 13, 2025.

In 2014, the Fur Institute of Canada instituted the NEAL JOTHAM AWARD, in recognition of Mr. Jotham's leadership in the creation of an international standard for humane trapping systems and for his meaningful dedication and contributions to improved animal welfare.

This award is open to those whose research, teaching, service or advocacy has had an impact – either in Canada or internationally – that has significantly benefited the welfare of animals.

- ROSS WHITE (2024)
- RANDY MERSEREAU (2019)
- MICHELLE HILTZ (2018)
- DR. RUDOLF W. MUELLER (2017)
- PIERRE-YVES DAOUST (2016)
- SASKATCHEWAN TRAPPERS ASSOCIATION (2015)
- NEAL JOTHAM (2014)